Currently when you import and overwrite lists (member list, labels staff members, etc.), the system does not remove the previous items in the field (just adds to).
It may be helpful for either:
a) The imported list to replace the previous data, or
b) Offer verbiage that suggests the user be aware that the list data, despite overwriting, will only add to the current data (not delete).